Early Bird or Night Owl?

.
Just wondering-

Are you an early bird or a night owl ?

Early birds or morning people are those who swear by Benjamin Franklin’s advise that “Early to bed and early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.

Such people are always eager to get up at 5 o’clock in the morning to go jogging. Or perhaps put in a few hours of study or work before breakfast.

Then there are some who are the exact opposite- these are the night owls or evening people.

They can stay up until all hours of the night partying or working or studying.

This may not be just a matter of personal preference.

A study by Scientists at the University of Alberta has found that ‘ there are significant differences in the way our brains function depending on whether we’re early risers or night owls.’

By using MRI guided brain stimulation techniques, the scientists found that ‘morning people’s brains were most excitable at 9 a.m. This slowly decreased through the day.

It was the polar opposite for evening people, whose brains were most excitable at 9 p.m.’

So if your child refuses to get up early to study, it may not be laziness, he/she may simply be an evening person!

How about you?

Early bird? Or night owl?
.

26 thoughts on “Early Bird or Night Owl?”

  1. I hate getting up early. But I will not say I am a night owl either. But, yes, if the time you prefer to study is an indicator, it is the still of the night for me. I have never been able to get up early and read something with great concentration.

    Like

  2. When the children were small, I had to get up early to do housework. Now, morning walk and exercise! So I am a permanent morning person. Can never sleep after 5 am. Likewise have to sleep by 10 – 10.30 pm!

    Like

  3. hahahaha……morning crowing cock or a late night owl…indeed.I am up by 5.45 am and to bed only by 11 pm or later. Some friends have analysed my situation and say that I have built a sizeable sleep deficit, whatever that means.I was told that 20 – 25 minutes deep meditation is like four hours sleep. Maybe, I should try that 🙂

    Like

  4. Manju,i am a confirmed night owl. Only trouble is, regardless of how late I sleep at night , I always get up at 6 am.Automatically. Maybe an MRI of my brain will show up an alarm clock inside. Strangely, everyone in my house is a night owl.

    Like

  5. Manju ji, you won't believe it. I have a post in my draft on 'Early Larks, Night owls and Hummingbirds' since forever. I stopped half way and never went back to complete it.I also started with Benjamin Franklin's lines. :)) It is such a coincidence. Now I am a Night Owl and I can do productive work only late night. I wish world could cut us some slack and make it more fair by dividing things between day and night. Sadly! till then people like me try to adjust with the early larks. :))))

    Like

  6. we are all night owl, though I would love to be an early bird..when here I see most of my neighbours up at early dawn and doing all those things..alpana etc, I really envy them.

    Like

  7. Guess I am neither…. during weekdays I am forced to be an early bird since I need to get everyone out of the house by 7:30 AM.. but then during holidays I am wide awake by 7 AM… and I am not an Owl either since I would be yawning by 9:30 PM… think it depends on each person and the circumstances… for me I need my 6-7 hours of sleep at any cost and if I get up late then I might sleep late….

    Like

  8. Very interesting- everyone's situation is different! Like many mothers, I used to get up early when my children were in school. Each year at least one of them attended school in the morning shift, and had to be ready by six o'clock.Mavin– Perhaps you should spend your vacations only sleeping!Kavi– Are you awake only at lunch time? 🙂Solilo– Great minds…:)

    Like

  9. interesting post! I'm with Sucharita! I never thought a day would come when I would GET UP at 6 a.m. or before….I usually WENT to bed at that time! But kids change everything (damn 'em)!!

    Like

  10. I am totally an early bird. I get so much more done, when I go to bed early and wake up by 5. I love the morning hours.. All peaceful and nice 🙂 The days I do stay up late – I am totally unproductive the next day.

    Like

  11. Very interesting. I was an early bird once, in fact till recently. I am morphing into a night owl. But I have to get up in the morning at sunrise!My kids are both are the true nihgt owls and unless it is for their school, I just let them be. I don't even have to cook brakfast for them. They get up only for lunch!! 😀

    Like

  12. I am an early person…..I can wake up as early as 3 am and be fresh n active once i get up :Pbut I cant keep myself awake at nights, unless I am doing some activity……my friends here keep teasing me, that I fall asleep in movies :Pam curious to know what more did the study tell abt the gen characterstics of an early bird?

    Like

  13. m definitely a night owl but yeah sometime i sleep so late that i go for morning walk wth early birds..:)but usually i sleep by 4-5 am i dont knw when my folks will get used to my lifestyle ……….but whenevr i go home i hvto getup early and it s**ks …………but i guess wth lots of outsourcing more and more people are turning to night owls and when we keep doin night shifts our body cycle changes and we adapt .but personally fr me i hv always liked to study at night ………..it is calm at night nd nobody to disturb u ………..

    Like

Do share your views here!

