Shubh Deepavali !

 

I shall not be online for a few days, over the Deepavali weekend. So I am writing this post a couple of days early. I would like to wish my blogger friends Shubh Deepavali!
May the festival of lights dispel darkness and illuminate our lives.
 .
I have often thought lately, that reading the numerous blogs here in the virtual world, is a sort of continuing education. We find a variety of topics presented from different perspectives.
 .
I feel that the discussions we have here, help us to better comprehend different concepts, events, ideas, viewpoints- to reduce darkness to some extent, and introduce light- so to speak.
.
 For myself- I have read here on some blogs, the flowing words of talented writers, on whose keyboards the Goddess Saraswati dwells.
.
 I have discovered minds far superior to my own, adept at deciphering the meaning behind events incomprehensible to others.
.
 I have read the thoughts of those blogger friends who make a definite impact, but in a gentle way, to avoid hurting others needlessly.
.
 I have read the emotional writings of some, whose feelings pour into their words.
.
 I have enjoyed the posts of those who use humour as their weapon, and of those who use satire to great effect.
.
Reading the various opinions here, has on occasion made me change my own way of thinking, or my opinion, though I will not always admit this!
.
I am certain that reading, and discussing, here, has encouraged me to look at things in a more comprehensive way, with a bit more understanding. Perhaps other blogger friends have also felt this?
.
On this festive occasion I would like to repeat a prayer that I posted last Deepavali, too-
 .
Om asato ma sadgamaya
tamaso ma jyotirgamaya
mrityorma amrtam gamaya
Om shantih shantih shantih
 .
Lead us from falsehood to truth,
From darkness to light,
From death to immortality.
May there be peace.
(Brihadaranyaka Upanishad — I.iii.28)
(lamps image- courtesy Wikipedia)
30 thoughts on “Shubh Deepavali !”

  1. Absolutely ! Reading and absorbing what you write has also been quite a treat to me !
    I am not sure about Saraswati residing on my keyboard. But i just have great fun in keying in those thoughts for the world to see !
    Wishing you a great Deepavali ! And thanks for the wonderful wishes too !

    Like

  2. What a wonderful post! Goddess Saraswati Herself has spoken.
    Indeed the blogosphere is a 24/7, 365 day Festival of Light. There will be none among your blogger friends who will disagree with all that you have so eloquently said. It has been and continues to be an education like at least I have not experienced ever before.
    No one who visits your blogs can remain untouched by the fine values that add meaning to life. Thank you Manju, for sharing your thoughts with us. Wish you Shubh Deepavali too!

    Like

  3. The photo of the diyas is beautiful, Manju! I feel the same, Manju. I have learned about so many things, after joining this blogworld.
    You have expressed every thought of mine too, here, in your post. I am reciting the shloka, which we had been doing from our childhood, Manju! I am praying to god to teach me how to write small, precise comments, too!
    Deepawali shubh kaamnaayein, to you and your family!

    Like

  4. Happy Diwali to you too!Yes, there is something amazing about the blogworld.. So much to learn, so much new to find out about, so much inspiration..
    Your blog is very special – I love the way you impart something relevant in every post of yours!

    Like

  5. Manju,What a great post ! In the olden days Diwali was a time for extended families to meet up. Today, geography and distances make things a bit difficult.
    And reading your post makes it feel like everyone is together, chatting, rustling silks, diwali sweets and all…
    Thank you for the divali wishes, and I wish you and your family a wonderful divali too…

    Like

  6. Kavi– It's good that you have fun writing your posts- that means you will continue writing them for a long time!
    Vinodji– Thank you for your appreciation for what I have written- though I do not deserve so much praise!
    Sandhya– I think your comments are just right- not all comments need to be short and precise!
    Sraboney– Thank you. Will you be celebrating Deepavali in Singapore in the same way as in India- with lanterns, etc.?

    Like

  7. Nita– Welcome! I like your take on reading blogs.
    Smitha– Thank you! And yes, the blogworld is amazing.
    Ugich Konitari– Yes, I too, have wonderful memories of family gatherings at Diwali time. In keeping with the changing times, we shall have to have a 'virtual Diwali' in addition to the real one!

    Like

  8. A happy Diwali to you and your family.Even I realised after blogging for few months that it is a full time involvement,which gives a lot of opportunity to learn,get to understand the psyche of different people,different ways of expression in writing.

    Like

  9. Hello Manjuji,Have a small vacation and take a break from blogging. You will have plenty to read after you are back.Wish you and others at home a Very Happy Diwali. May the coming year bring in its wake good health, blessings and abundance.Our best wishes….

    Like

  10. Chowlaji– Yes, I've found that too- blogging does give a lot of opportunity to learn and to understand different types of people.Happy Diwali!

    Solilo, nice idea for diyas!One year I used painted glass bowls (very expensive) for diyas. Someone had given them as a gift, but since these were painted on the inside too, I did not like to use them for food!
    Mavin, thank you for your Diwali wishes.Yes, a break from blogging is probably good- I spend far too much time online!
    BTW-Solilo, Mavin -You must have guessed by now from the way I write, that I come from an RSS background. That is why I have a habit of addressing people as 'ji'.For myself, I would prefer plain 'Manju'.:)

    Like

  11. Gauri– Happy Diwali to you and your family, too!
    Sucharita– Well I have to justify being online so much, don't I? 🙂 Happy Diwali! Is it 'Diwali' in Bengali, too- as in Marathi, rather than 'Deepavali'?

    Like

  12. I agree to your thoughts completely..blogging has come to my rescue when I was feeling the empty nest syndrome and then it opened up a new world to me….I have gained immensely fronm my blogger friends.AApko bhi depawali ki haardik Shubhkamna ! Ishwar karey ki aapki yeh diwali atyant hi mangalmay ho !

    Like

  13. Happy Diwali to you and your family too. This has been one blog I visit almost everyday. And definitely you are one of those who conveys thoughts in as you put ' gentle way, to avoid hurting others'.

    Like

  14. Gopinathji– Thank you! A very Happy Diwali to you and your family, too!
    Radha– Thank you for your appreciation- I enjoy the informative and insightful posts on your blog, too!

    Like

  15. happy Diwali to you and your family Manju :)and you have said what I have been thinking for a long time..there is a marked change in how I think about an issue after being here for an year… :)cheers to blogging 🙂

    Like

  16. Hope I am not late in wishing you a Happy Diwali..was travelling the last few days..Wish you and your loved ones a happy and prosperous year.. You have wonderfully written about blogging… it is great to read the wisdom that pours out from bloggers..nd you yourself have a special way of reaching out…bloggers offer a different way of thinking.. we get to see a subject from every angle…

    Like

  17. Anrosh– Long ago when we were young, my sister and I used to sit on the floor in our kitchen and help my mother roll out and fill the Karanjyas.
    And she would pretend not to notice when we ate some before they were all fried. 🙂 Happy Diwali, Anrosh!

    Like

Do share your views here!

