Friends and a Bloggers’ Lunch

Researchers are only now starting to pay attention to the importance of friendship and social networks in overall health.” says an article published in the New York Times some time ago.

The articles cites several studies that indicate that strong social ties could promote brain health as we get older.

A professor of sociology, Rebecca G. Adams, is of the opinion that friendship has more impact on our psychological well-being than family relationships.

Readers may be wondering why I am rambling on about friends and friendship, today. The reason is that yesterday I attended a Bloggers’ Lunch for the very first time!

 When I started blogging a year ago, I had no idea of the wonderful friends I would meet here. But in the past year, I have gained many friends whose friendship I value very much. And I was fortunate to meet four of them yesterday!

We were five bloggers from Mumbai at the lunch. The other four, as well as a blogger friend of theirs from Pune, had met before a couple of times. So they already knew each other.

However, even though I was meeting them for the first time, since I ‘knew’ them already through their blogs, I felt as though I was catching up with old friends!

For a wonderful account of the historical meeting, do read this post by Ugich Konitari on her blog, Gappa!

22 thoughts on “Friends and a Bloggers’ Lunch”

  1. Nu– Welcome here!And thank you.:)Vivekji– Thanks for the welcome! It was great meeting you all!Vinodji– Well, the 'real' world is all 'Maya' anyway, isn't it? 🙂Kanagu– I loved your post describing your meeting with a fellow blogger!!:)Chowlaji– Yes, it was very interesting to meet fellow bloggers!

    Like

  2. Glad you had a good time. Strange how cyberspace can also be a place where friendships begin. We form an idea about the person as we visit their blogs each time. Did they seem to match with that image?

    Like

  3. Manju: Real good friends play an important role in our life. It is nice to read about your meeting with your blogger friends. Do you think you have come closer to them after the meet? It must have been very very interesting, meeting strangers whom we think we know them well through their blogs!

    Like

  4. Hobo– Welcome here!Radha– You know, I was surprised to find that the conversation was just as it is on our blogs. The only difference was that we were there in person.:)Kavi– Same here- I enjoyed meeting you all very much!Antarman– Welcome! Yes, it was great meeting fellow bloggers!

    Like

  5. Ugich Konitari– Well, it's good to know that even science supports our get-togethers!:)Sandhya– It was just like meeting Real Life friends. I think we get to know people well through their blogs, and their comments on our blogs.Solilo– Our Bloggers' Lunch was a lot of fun- yes, long live good friendships!

    Like

  6. Sucharita-I had announced to my family when I first started blogging, that I would remain anonymous online. So I have to have some scientific evidence to convince them about my changed viewpoint.:)

    Like

Do share your views here!

