Some Random Thoughts- Apropos of Nothing Much

Looking out of my living room window in the morning, I see that people in Mumbai are always running.

Office goers run to catch the 7.32 local train to VT.

Children wake up a few minutes late in the morning and run, with satchels flying behind them, to catch the school bus. Harried mothers run after them, carrying the tiffin boxes the children have forgotten in their haste.

The newspaper boy is a bit behind schedule, so he flings his bicycle to one side and runs into our building, carrying his stack of newspapers.

In the afternoons, it is a joy to see very young children running in the compound of our building. Their running has no real reason, but somehow seems more meaningful than that of the adults.

The habit of running is so addictive that people run even if there is no need for it.

People in Mumbai love running so much that Marathons are held regularly, with many enthusiasts participating.

The word Marathon has an interesting origin. The Greek soldier Pheidippides ran from the Battle of Marathon in Greece, to Athens, bringing news of a Greek victory over the Persians. At the end of his historic run, he collapsed and died.

Running evidently has its limits.

Sometimes it seems that everyone is running on a stationary treadmill. So much time and energy spent, but still they are in the same place.

The other day a friend said- I don’t know how the years went by, time just flies.

Apparently time was flying while she was running!

25 thoughts on “Some Random Thoughts- Apropos of Nothing Much”

  1. Manuj, That was an interesting take on ‘running ‘:) I just realised that I like ‘running’ so much that my walking has become more like running 🙂 yes, we are constantly ‘on the run’, aren’t we? Sometimes we run towards exciting things, sometimes away from things, sometimes we run for the fun of it, sometimes we run for our lives 🙂

    Like

  2. Ram Gopal Verma even made a movie “Run”, didn’t he? “Their running has no real reason, but somehow seems more meaningful than that of the adults.” This a very good observation indeed. We adults actually spend a lot of time running around in one circle or another, not knowing why.

    Like

  3. Smitha- It amuses me a lot that whenever I look out the window, I see someone running.You’re right-“Sometimes we run towards exciting things, sometimes away from things, sometimes we run for the fun of it, sometimes we run for our lives”I think Abhi could make this idea into a post of epic proportions.:)

    Like

  4. Reminds me of Forrest Gump. One of my favorite movies. He had no idea why he was running and then one day he just stopped.My husband says that he will take up running as recreation when he sees a smiling runner on the street. They all look like they’re in so much pain, lol.

    Like

  5. As Mr. Sharma suggested is it a a preview of RGV’s Run? :)But you are right. People run even when there is no need for it. We are used to running esp. in the cities. This reminds me something I read that one should never run in the rain instead walk briskly because when you run the rain falls on you in a slanty way thus drenching you whereas when you walk it falls straight and you won’t drench compared to running. 🙂

    Like

  6. Anrosh- Homesick for Mumbai? :)I never had to travel much by local trains- when I was working I used to go by bus. I think I really missed out on a unique experience!Weeble- I loved that movie! And moreso because of Tom Hanks- one of my favourite actors.I think runners all listen to music while they run these days- maybe that’s why they don’t smile?

    Like

  7. That was a lovely last line. ‘time was flying while she was running’ !!maybe the quintessential quest is to catch up with time thats flying ! and until that catch up happens, the focus on running stays ! 🙂

    Like

  8. Thanks for stopping by my blog a little while ago. Re: the post – So true! I think the simple line ‘we have no time to stand and stare’ is so apt. We have to make a conscious effort to stop and enjoy the little things in life, e.g. just as you said the running of the child. It’s the happiness and thrill of leaving school, and perhaps racing a friend to the gate. I try to stop and stare…but I do the latter carefully, lest they think I’m a weirdo! 🙂

    Like

  9. 😀 *huge grin* at the epic proportions line :Dbut seriously you have captured it beautifully:)and very insightfully might I add:)I do this running a lot too:) and I realise now that I need to slow down…:)loved your lines..all of them…you have captured all the emotions …hues…or anything that one would like to call it…my fav was this,”Sometimes it seems that everyone is running on a stationary treadmill. So much time and energy spent, but still they are in the same place.”

    Like

  10. Kavi-“maybe the quintessential quest is to catch up with time thats flying !”That may be true!And if we are not going to catch up anyway, maybe we should slow down to “smell the flowers”? SSQuo- “I try to stop and stare…but I do the latter carefully, lest they think I’m a weirdo! :)”-LOL!

    Like

  11. Indyeah- I think many people need to slow down a little! But I know some who would just not know what to do if they did take things a bit slower.

    Like

  12. My experience is that untill there is good food for your brain.. you tend to run..But when it starts diminishing.. you unknowingly tend to slow down and get bored ..:(

    Like

  13. A very insightful post about people running – yes, I too have noticed all the things that you mention but never sort of seemed to dwell or ponder over them. As an aside, many years ago I had read somewhere, “Hurry – a visible form of worry”. This is probably the reason for the increase in stress in our lives.

    Like

  14. peppy- True- but then, I think, we have to find something that kindles our enthusiasm again…J P Joshi- “Hurry – a visible form of worry”.- Yes, very true.. at least for adults!Prerna- That’s right-we can’t be static- even if we wanted to!

    Like

Do share your views here!

