For the past few days while the terror situation was going on here in Mumbai, and now after it has been resolved, we have been hearing all sorts of opinions.

Everyone has an opinion on every aspect of this drama. On how it could have been averted. On who was responsible. On why it took place. On the role of local people. On the role of foreign nationals.

There are as many views as there are people and this has resulted in a lot of confusion.

I think that instead of speculating on these aspects, there is just one question that each one of us needs to ask our self. And that is- where does my responsibility lie?

My answer, and I hope the answer of each of us, to this, is-My responsibility is to my country and to my countrymen.

Many people feel sympathy for the terrorists because they are just young boys. I feel sorry for them, too. But that does not mean that I can forgive them.

Because they have killed my countrymen.

People have been saying that since some Muslims in India feel that they are being discriminated against, it is understandable that they may help the terrorists.

I simply cannot understand this argument. If there are injustices being done, then we must correct them.

But this cannot be a justification for betraying my country. Any real or perceived injustice or inequality does not give me the right to allow terrorists to store RDX in my shop. It does not give me the right to rent out my flat to terrorists.

Many people are concerned about what America will think if we accuse Pakistan of having a hand in the attacks. But that does not concern us, because our responsibility is to our country.

Politicians are concerned that the relationship between India and Pakistan will be soured. But we should not care about that. We are responsible only to India and Indians.

My responsibility is to my country and to my countrymen. But who are my countrymen?

Whoever are loyal to India are my countrymen. That is the only criteria that I accept. Religion, community, class, caste, nothing else is to be considered. Loyalty to India is the only important thing.

Once we realize this responsibility of ours, there will be no more confusion. My loyalty is to my country and my countrymen.

This is not the time to keep on nursing past grievances. This is the time to show our enemies that we are united against them. That we love our country above all. And that we are ready to make any sacrifice for our country.

Once we accept this, we will be prepared to sacrifice our selfish gains for the greater good of our country, and rise above petty quarrels and differences and politics.

And then India will become so powerful that no terrorist will dare to attack us.